Maybe I just look it. The other day I was in Taco Bueno for lunch. Ordered my meal, paid for it and sat down. Being by myself, I had nothing to do. Nothing to read, nobody to talk to, just eat in wonderful silence with my own thoughts. That’s when I noticed it. On my receipt were the words, “DISCOUNTED.” I thought there had been some mistake (which there was), but didn’t go correct it. They had given me the Senior Discount! Now I’m not sure at what age TB starts giving people Senior Discounts, but I promise you, I’M NOT THERE YET. I may be close, but not yet. Not now. I’ve got a daughter starting college next year. How could I possibly get a discount for being a senior. Maybe they had me confused with one of those seniors from TCU? I don’t even open those envelopes from AARP.

But putting the age thing aside for the moment, the words at the bottom of the ticket got me thinking. We are a society who loves discounts – we will drive all over town (or the Metroplex) to save a few bucks. A discount is some amount taken off of the original value or worth. And why are things discounted? Things get discounted because they aren’t selling as fast as they should and the item needs to be gotten out of the way, or the retailer ordered way too many, or a new version or style comes out, or now it’s time for the spring stuff so out with the winter, or things have just gotten old. We want that bargain and we’ll certainly take the discount because we can get a great deal. But in life it’s just the opposite. How often in life do we do the same thing to the people we know, or go to church with, or work with, or come in contact with on a daily basis? We “discount” them. Take something off of their original value or worth. And we don’t necessarily want someone whose been “discounted.” Why? Because they have gotten old, our relationships aren’t selling like they should, or we have way too many friends already and we don’t need another, or they are just in the way, or a new style comes out (they may be different than what we expect and want). After a while, people start feeling discounted, living up to the expectation they aren’t worth as much as someone else. And that is sad. We are all, as Christ’s followers, commanded to love others and put them in higher reqard than even ourselves. Lift them up so they can reach the full value of what God intended, not some discounted throw-away. That’s what Jesus did to the woman at the well, the woman caught in adultery, the man with leprosy, the paralytic, the sick woman who reached out and touched His garment, and on, and on, and on. Think of people in light of their true worth in God, not their “discounted” value that we put on them.

And about that Senior Discount at TB. I think I’ll go and try some other places: I may look old but I’m not stupid.

His Peace

