One of my all-time favorite groups is Jars of Clay. There are not many cds I will just leave in the car cd player and constantly listen to, but for some reason, I do with JoC . Here’s one of their songs for your listening pleasure:

TROUBLE IS

my wings don’t sail me to the sky
on my own these wings won’t fly
Jesus told me so
still, i’m not so sure that i know

can’t find no rest for my soul
can’t find no rest on my own
Jesus told me so
still, i’m not so sure that i know

Chorus:
man, the trouble is
we don’t know who we are instead
man, the trouble is
we don’t know who we are instead

i keep runnin’ the other way
my heart ain’t built to stay
my heart ain’t built to stay
and the world just ain’t that way

[CHORUS]

we don’t know who we are instead

my heart ain’t built to stay
i said, my heart, well, it ain’t built to stay
Jesus told me so

I thought about those words yesterday when I was videotaping a guest speaker at the college I work for. He is a Psychology professor at Florida State University in Tallahassee and considered by some as an outstanding expert on the African-American mind. His thesis is that African-Americans are still being oppressed today because oppression is a state of mind. One of his books is “Breaking the Chains of Psychological Slavery.” Being a WASP I won’t address that issue. But his comments made a lot of sense to me from a Christian perspective, even though this good doctor wasn’t coming from anywhere near that direction.

He talked about African-Americans remained in slavery for so long, and are in some ways still slaves, because they had no idea who they were (or who they are) as black people. They don’t understand their standings in history and in early cultures. It’s the same for Christians.

We are held in slavery to our human nature and desires because we don’t know who we are as Christ Followers. We have such a hard time understanding our relationship with God, and who we are in God. Being a child of God is so foreign to us. We find it very easy to call Him “Savior” but very difficult to call Him Father, Lord or even God with all that name implies.

Here’s another Jars of Clay snippet:

sitting silent wearing sunday best
the sermon echoes through the walls
a great salvation through it calls to the people
who stare into nowhere, and can’t feel the chains on their souls

“Chains on their souls.” What’s not to like about those guys? We are slaves. But instead of being slaves (or better yet, bondservants) to God, we have sold ourselves to the world and the post-modern idea that there is no truth. We have become impotent and afraid to rise up in a new revolution, a revolution for freedom! Break the chains on your souls and live free. As Emily (a friend of my friend Angie) said in her blog dated Feb 8th (if you get a chance to read it I encourage you to do so), “knowledge is power, baby. the Truth will set you free.” john 8:32

Yeah, baby!

