Angie’s comments about my post of Irish Blessings got me thinking.

There is a pub in England called The Eagle and Child, or Bird and Baby, where C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, Charles Williams, and several other members of the “Inklings,” as they were known, would meet once a week for food, ale and great conversation. Contrary to popular belief they would not read their writings here, but I bet they discussed their stuff. I, being a fan of Lewis and Tolkien, can only imagine what a great time this was as they discussed work, family, fantasy, and everyday happenings.

In a way, that’s the way I perceive blogs. There are just a few of us who write down our thoughts and make comments on each other’s sites, and it’s usually the same ones over and over, but that’s ok. This gives us opportunity to sort through our thoughts and beliefs before we dump them on the world at large, or at least with those we come into contact with. Some of the blogs are just nonsense and fun, much like conversation would be at the Bird and Baby, sitting around tables drinking ale, warming by the fire. Some of the blogs are on a more serious note discussing life, family, God, relationships, work, dating and everyday happenings. Nobody is judged or thought less of; we are just interested in what is happening in each others’ lives and minds. And of course, there will always be the occasional visitor who drops by to share in the revelry, or sits back just listening. And that’s ok too.

If we can’t be in the Bird and Baby enjoying the conversations and the warmth of our friendships, this will have to do. It doesn’t replace the personal one-on-one interaction I enjoy, but The Eagle and Child is just too far away to make for frequent visits.

So, here’s to you lads and lasses, my friends. The next one is on me!

Here’s to you and here’s to me
I pray that friends we’ll always be,
But if by chance we disagree,
The heck with you and here’s to me!

