“Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You. Show me the way I should go, for to You I lift up my soul. Rescue me from my enemies, O Lord, for I hide myself in You. Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God; may Your good Spirit lead me on level ground.” (Psalm 143:8-10)

God’s unfailing love – that’s something we all have trouble with. I don’t know why, we just do. I guess it has something to do with the second part of that sentence, “…for I have put my trust in You.” We don’t trust God. We don’t know how to trust God. How did David, who was running from a king who was trying to kill him, get to this point – the point of total trust? Look at what David did.

“Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love.” Why the morning? Why not at noon, or at night? The first thing David did when he awoke was to come into the presence of God and His Word, and to trust Him. That’s what trust is all about. David had no idea what enemies he would be facing, what surprises were in store for him that day. At night it’s too late to trust in God to help us face our enemies, whoever or whatever they are. The morning brings a new day to go forth into battle, and so often we go out unprepared. We get up at the last possible second (after hitting the snooze alarm four or five times), rush around getting ready for school or work, fight the traffic and cuss those drivers who are going too slow or just don’t know how to drive (all the while listening to our favorite Christian music on the radio or CD), deal with the stress of the day the best we can, fight the traffic home, eat our supper, watch our TV, go to bed exhausted. And sometimes as we lie in bed we might ask God to help us deal with the pressures of our lives. That is, if we think about it.

David woke up and said, “God, I don’t know what this day will hold, but I’m going to trust you. You haven’t ever failed me and I believe you never will.” What did David trust God to do? The same things we should be asking of God.

First, that God will show us the way to go for that day. We all need direction in our lives, but we want God to give us a complete road map with our entire future plotted out for us to see. But God doesn’t work that way. Just like the Israelites, He will provide for us the manna (faith) we need for today, and just enough to get through this day. Come tomorrow if we try to make it through the day on yesterday’s manna (faith) we will find it spoiled, no good. He will provide for us on a daily basis. What is expected from us? David said, “…for to You I lift up my soul.” When was the last time you lifted up your soul to God? In the Old Testament, “a mortal is a living soul rather than having a soul. Instead of splitting a person into two or three parts, Hebrew thought sees a unified being, but one that is profoundly complex, a psychophysical being” (Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology). The soul in us is the very breath of God, breathed into us to give us life. Show us the way daily, every morning.

The second thing we should ask for is to be rescued from our enemies. Like David, some of the enemy will be known; others are waiting for us as we live out our day, totally catching us by surprise. We should begin the day by asking God, in His unfailing love, to deliver us from that which seeks to destroy us before we are even faced with the danger. Normally we cry out for rescue after we get in trouble or in a bind; but David asked for rescue before he was confronted with his enemies. What a radical thought. And the only way that God can rescue us from our enemies is if we can say, like David, “I hide myself in You.” Paul in the New Testament had this figured out. Look at what he says in Romans 13: “12 The night is nearly over, and the daylight is near, so let us discard the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light. 13 Let us walk with decency, as in the daylight… 14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ” (emphasis mine). If we are hidden in Christ then our enemies can’t find us, they only find Jesus. Rescue us daily, every morning.

The next thing we need to ask for is that God will teach us His will. I hear it time and time again, “I don’t know God’s will for my life,” or “I’m having trouble finding God’s will.” God’s will is not a formula or a process, but a living relationship with God Himself. That’s why David declared, “…for You are my God.” If we are living in a daily relationship we don’t find God’s will, His will finds us. But what does it mean for God to “teach” us His will? Learning should be an ongoing, never ending part of our lives. Doris Lessing said of learning, “That is what learning is. You suddenly understand something you’ve understood all your life, but in a new way.” God is constantly teaching us about Him, about faith, about life and about love. In other words, about His will. Teach us His will daily, every morning.

Finally we’ve got to let God lead us. How else will He be able to show us the way, to protect and rescue us, to teach us, if He isn’t out in front leading us? His Spirit takes us by the hand and walks us through the rough places along the path and leads us to level ground. Since we can’t see the dangers lying ahead we are very dependent on Him to take care of us, to be our Shepard. The American Heritage Dictionary defines lead as to show the way to by going in advance, to guide or direct in a course (lead a horse by the halter), or to guide the behavior or opinion of. He leads us daily, every morning.

We need to get to the point where we can exclaim like David, “Because of Your name, Yahweh, let me live.”

Let me live indeed!

His peace be on you.

