I don’t know why I care, or even if I should, but I want to ordain three women in my home church. Well, not me personally, but I want the church to do it. You know what I mean. I don’t know if the women even want to be ordained. My friend Smitty, who just graduated from seminary in May and accepted a call from the church to become the full-time minister to children, is just that: a full-time minister. I think it is interesting that because she is a woman, and that she is not really “ministering” but doing what women do best (working with children), we don’t automatically jump in and say, “If she is going to be a minister she needs to be ordained!” We’ve got two other women on staff but no one ever really talks about them being ordained. We tried at one time to have one of them ordained, but it just seems to have gone away.

What keeps us from ordaining them? They are not trying to be lead pastor, or associate pastor, or even a teaching pastor. They work with the children and in the recreation ministry. But we don’t give them the same level of “respect” we do other staff positions. I joked with Smitty that I was going to vote against her call to the church because when she gave the children’s sermon the Sunday morning we voted, she should have called it Children’s Talk, not sermon. But I think there are still a lot of people in our churches that feel a woman should never be a minister. She can be music director, or children’s director, or director of whatever, but don’t call her a minister. And there is absolutely no way a woman could ever teach. But tell that to Anne Graham Lotz (Billy’s daughter, who he says is the best preacher in the family) or Beth Moore or Kay Arthur or…you get the message.

I’m not sure there is much of a Scriptual basis for not ordaining women. It seems to be based on tradition. And today it’s more for the IRS than for anything else. But if a woman wants to be considered as an equal on a church staff, and she wants to be ordained, then I think the church should do it.

I’m not sure why I blogged this, it’s just something that was on my mind and I wanted to get it out. Do you agree or disagree? Or does it really matter?

