Thoughts are bouncing about in my head, in no particular order. I’ve been reading a lot of blogs lately, mostly about the Emerging Church (EC). The blogs get me thinking about all kinds of things, but they mainly make me wish I was young again to join in the conversation. I start out with the blogs listed on the right side of my site, and from there I start bouncing around to the links that are on their sites. Some good stuff out there, just almost too much.

Some of the bloggers just got back from the SBC convention in Nashville. From their comments I wonder why EC leaders and participants are even a part of the SBC. I dropped out many years ago even though I still belong to an SBC church (we mainly align ourselves with Willow Creek and Saddleback than SBC, along with the Baptist General Convention of Texas). I graduated from Southwestern Seminary, but that was under Dr. Dilday. I was working for an SBC agency (the old Radio and TV Commission which is now a part of North American Mission Board) when Dilday was fired. I was also responsible for the video feeds (the image mag and live feeds to the old ACTS network) at the convention every year, so I saw a lot of stuff going on in the background. I have a real problem with what is now being called the “Conservative Reformation” of the SBC. From what I saw and experienced, it was a power struggle, and not much else. It’s sad that most of the Young Leaders (YL) today weren’t even born when all this started, and now only hear one side of the controversy. And from what I’ve been reading, the YLs are experiencing some of the same frustrations that have plagued the convention for years. Some of what these YLs believe are just not compatible with the good ol’ boy way of doing a multi-million dollar behemoth.

One of the things that came out of the convention is a new evangelism movement to baptize one million people in one year. The messengers were given, I’m guessing, a new six-point plan for lifestyle evangelism. But we’ve have, and had, all kinds of programs for years, and yet the baptisms for the SBC have declined for the past five years. Insanity is defined as doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Why are we so hung up on numbers. I read one of the bloggers, and I’m not sure which one, mention that he doesn’t have “membership” at the church he pastors because membership doesn’t mean anything if you aren’t committed. This applies to membership in a health club as well as a church. And the SBC claims 16 million members but half are unaccounted for.

I’m all for evangelism, but what about involvement in the community? What about showing love? What about getting to know others? I worked with a young man several years ago who wasn’t a Christian. Almost every other worker in the company was. One day after one of our staff meetings, several of the Christians “cornered” this guy and began to witness to him. It did little good. Later he told me that made him so mad because these people had NEVER even taken the time to get to know him, to find out what made him tick. They just made assumptions and judgments and went after him like sharks to blood. I don’t know if this guy ever became a Christ follower, but I have my doubts.

Ok, enough of my rant. I could go on and on, but it’s best if I just take a break. I’m going to try to post more often, if not for my 3 or 4 readers than just for me.

His peace be on you.

