In today's Oswald Chambers, he writes about God doing a work in and through us, but not because of us. He writes in part:

It is much easier to do something than to trust in God; we see the activity and mistake panic for inspiration. That is why we see so few fellow workers with God, yet so many people working for God. We would much rather work for God than believe in Him. Do I really believe that God will do in me what I cannot do? The degree of hopelessness I have for others comes from never realizing that God has done anything for me.

That is where I see so many of us today…we've got to be doing something to show that God is at work. We've got to have bigger buildings, and better programs, and more Bible studies, and more witnessing, and louder music. I'm becoming at odds with my current church home, not over theology but over vision. We've formed a Long Range Planning Committee (yes, we are Baptist. Why do you ask?) and the input from some of the staff is very telling. The pastor wants a 1200 seat auditorium (he has a vision of a mega-church with 5000+ members). Our traditional music person wants a 150 seat choir loft (even though we barely have 30 – 35 choir members now) with a hydraulic-lift floor to raise and lower the orchestra. The contemporary music person wants sound-proof recording/practice studios. This was all I heard before I stopped the person telling me, this was enough. These people are all good and well-intentioned people, but I could tell that what I want in a church is different from the direction we are heading, and I'm sad. We do a lot of good things in the community, but this vision just seems wrong to me. I suppose it's much easier to raise money for a new sanctuary than it is to raise money for a new church start (or several), or give more money for our Promises ministry (which helps those in need), or make our child care more affordable for single moms, or…well, you get the picture. Those things are harder to quantify, we need to see things happening.

I'm not sure where I am going from here, but I covet your prayers.

B~

