• Why don't I know the answers? I'm suppose to. I'm the teacher. The older wiser father figure. But I don't have the answers. I'm sometimes as frustrated as they are. I see some of the people in our class hurting and questioning and wanting answers, and it seems I have none to give. Why don't I know?
  • If God knows the future, why was He "grieved that He had made man on the earth, and His heart was filled with pain" (Gen 6:6)? Didn't He know what we were going to be like?
  • The preacher yesterday spoke of the two times that Jesus was amazed. In Mark 6, Jesus "COULD NOT DO ANY MIRACLES there (in His hometown) except lay His hands on a few sick people and heal them. And He was amazed at their lack of faith." Is MY lack of faith keeping Jesus from performing miracles in and around me?
  • Rob Bell in Velvet Elvis talks about Luther and his contemporaries "who never stopped rethinking and repainting the faith." He says:

Luther's contemporaries used a very specific word for this endless, absolutely necessary process of change and growth. They didn't use the word reformed; they used the word reforming. This distinction is crucial. They knew that they and others hadn't gotten it perfect forever. They knew that the things they said and did and wrote and decided would need to be revisited. Rethought. Reworked.

Does who I am as a Christ Follower end in "ed" or "ing?" Am I transformed or transforming? Am I conformed or conforming? Am I reformed or reforming? Is my faith frozen, or is it alive, dynamic and fresh?

Just wondering.

B~

