*Warning – whine alert: proceed with caution and open mind.

I’ve decided that I’m bored. Bored with what I do for a living. You see, I do video production. I video tape something, and then edit it together to tell some kind of story. But I have a problem and the problem is two-fold. First, the “somethings” that I’ve been shooting for the college the last few years are really uncreative, talking head kinds of things. Boring stuff. The kinds of production where I could take my camera, lock it off while it’s taping, and no one would care because it doesn’t matter.

The second problem is that I’ve been doing this work since 1982 and I’m so ready for something different. Something creative. For those of you who are mathically challenged, that’s 24 years – longer than some of you have been alive. There are days, ok months, where it wouldn’t bother me if I never pick up a camera again. And in a way, that makes me sad. I remember the thrill of directing multi-camera live shows, of going out on location, and the planning and the creative work involved. But not any more. Now it’s become just a job that I do. “Hi, I’m the Instructional Television Production Manager.” Even the title sounds boring. I find myself doing something that I said I would never do, and didn’t for a long time hence the lack of money or retirement, and that is working at a job I hate just to make a living and reach retirement.

I also find, I think, that I may have become bored with my Christian journey. I seem to be doing the same things over and over, and that can get tiring. I long for newness, and refreshing rain, and peace unlike the world can give or knows anything about. And I long to do church differently because I’ve done it the same way for so long. Singing the same songs, hearing the same sermons, all of us speaking the same language. I think that is what intrigues me about people like Rob Bell, Erwin McManus, Real Life Preacher, and others who are trying to address the growing boredom of today’s Christianity. I think that is what Jesus really was talking about when He refers to us being salt. We lose our flavor as salt because we have become bored. And boring.

But the first hope of the dry bones living again is the realization that we are dead. That we are boring. That we are bored. And we shall live again.

“Then you, my people, will know that I am the Lord, when I open your graves and bring you up from them. I will put my Spirit in you and you will live.”

Just thinking out loud again.

His peace.

B~

PS – This news story got my attention. I’ve got a friend in Peru and if you would pray for her safety I would appreciate it.

