Hi Dan, thanks for stopping by and commenting on my last post about Zen Dog.  You make a very good point, and I didn’t mean to imply that we as Christ Followers are simply left to fend for ourselves.  After reading what I posted, I felt like I left the impression that the destination nor the community of believers weren’t important. The community aspect of our journey is extremely important, but not at the loss of the individual. My experience is that some in the community we call church, at least in the past, have had a tendency to neglect the oppressed, the disenfranchised, the addicted or the abuse simply because they don’t fit in. Get “saved” first and then we’ll live life together.  Some churches, not all, try to make every Christian a cookie-cutter Christian and be exactly the same instead of letting the individual experience his or her spiritual journey the way God directs them. My life experiences are going to be different from yours, and my encounters with God may be different than yours. We cannot survive this journey on our own, but it is still our own path we need to travel. Perhaps you are right about the glorious destination giving glory to the journey, but as the old saying goes: “Sometimes we are so heavenly minded that we are no earthly good.”

His peace on you.
B~

