There’s a new link on my sidebar, check it out.

Here’s what it means in Amber’s own words:

I’ve had this dream for a while, and it has partially came true. When we first started going to Pine Ridge I really felt strongly that we needed to provide a backpack filled with school supplies to each child in the village we visit. This will be our 4th year in doing that and it is always one of the highlights of the trip. Last year one of the little boys squealed “Cool, there’s the backpack truck” when he saw the Ryder truck parked in front of the church.

That is all well and good and we will continue to do that, BUT, I really would like to expand the project. I would love to take backpacks to Wounded Knee and to the main village on the Reservation, Pine Ridge. (all are on the rez) The problem with that is – money. It costs about $15 per child for a backpack filled with school supplies. We usually buy 150 for the village of Allen where we go each year. That’s $2,250.00 each year. To expand this outreach it would take 3 – 4 times that amount.

So I’ve been wrestling… trying to figure out HOW to make this happen. I’ve even considered contacting Oprah. She apparently knows how to move people. I’ve checked into getting corporate sponsors. They all seem to have their pet programs already in place. So, I’m not sure where to go or what to do. But I can do one thing. I can put it out there on the Internet for anyone who feels inclined to help provide children on the rez much needed school supplies. I’ve made a new site that explains it a bit and I’ll just see where this goes. I would humbly ask my readers to consider putting a link to that page on your site. You can email me at amberburiff@aol.com and I’ll send you the image code that you can paste into your sidebar. Really, just anything you can do to help me get the word out. Maybe corproations will not help but I believe there are good people who would like to help the needy kids on the rez get an education.

God is always before us.

B~

