In Matthew 25, Jesus is talking about when He is sitting on His throne of glory and judging the nations of the world, and I noticed a very interesting thing: He was judging everyone based on how they treated their fellowman, not on whether they “walked the aisle.”  Now don’t get me wrong, I believe Jesus came to set us free, and that freedom comes from believing on His name.  But in this judgment He is talking about separating the people from each other based on our response to the misery of those around us.

I’ll let you read it in Jesus’ own words (from the Message):

31 “When he finally arrives, blazing in beauty and all his angels with him, the Son of Man will take his place on his glorious throne. 32 Then all the nations will be arranged before him and he will sort the people out, much as a shepherd sorts out sheep and goats, 33 putting sheep to his right and goats to his left. 34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Enter, you who are blessed by my Father! Take what’s coming to you in this kingdom. It’s been ready for you since the world’s foundation. 35 And here’s why: I was hungry and you fed me, I was thirsty and you gave me a drink, I was homeless and you gave me a room, 36 I was shivering and you gave me clothes, I was sick and you stopped to visit, I was in prison and you came to me.’ 37 “Then those ‘sheep’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry and feed you, thirsty and give you a drink? 38 And when did we ever see you sick or in prison and come to you?’ 39  40 Then the King will say, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me – you did it to me.’ 41 “Then he will turn to the ‘goats,’ the ones on his left, and say, ‘Get out, worthless goats! You’re good for nothing but the fires of hell. 42 And why? Because – I was hungry and you gave me no meal, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, 43 I was homeless and you gave me no bed, I was shivering and you gave me no clothes, Sick and in prison, and you never visited.’ 44 “Then those ‘goats’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or homeless or shivering or sick or in prison and didn’t help?’ 45 “He will answer them, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you failed to do one of these things to someone who was being overlooked or ignored, that was me – you failed to do it to me.’ 46 “Then those ‘goats’ will be herded to their eternal doom, but the ‘sheep’ to their eternal reward.”

What I find interesting is the “sheep,” the righteous, weren’t even aware they were doing what they were doing, it just came out of LOVE.  The goats were either clueless, or lazy, or too self-absorbed, or too religious to care.  Often I find myself as a goat, and that’s becoming harder to take.

Picked this up from a new blog (HT: Jamie) I read today (count the zeros):

  • 1,200,000,000 people live on 23 cents a day
  • 2,000,000,000 people have no electricity
  • 1,000,000,000 people are without safe drinking water
  • 14,000,000 children were orphaned because of HIV/AIDS
  • 2,000,000 children have died as a direct result of armed conflict during the last 10 years
  • $8,000,000,000.00 were spent on cosmetics in America in 2005
  • $11,000,000,000.00 were spent on ice cream in Europe
  • $17,000,000,000.00 were spent on pet food in the USA and Europe
  • $20,000,000.00 were spent by a “mega-church” this year on a new “education building” consisting of two large group venues, a media center and classrooms, all for the children…will they be the next generation of disciple-makers and Jesus trippin’ fools (1 Corinthians 4:9-11; Acts 17:18; Acts 26:24; 1 Corinthians 1:18) out to change the world…

So, what are you?  A sheep?  Or a goat?

B~

